A Catch-Up Blog Post

Standard
A Catch-Up Blog Post

I’ve become what I have been dreading when I first started this blog…an abandoner. One of my biggest personality flaws is that once I get started on a “creative” project, I always allow life (like school and work) to get in the way of my hobbies. So what changed my mind? What motivated me to return to my blog? A couple of things – I never gave up baking and cooking. Instead of blogging about it, I just started posting the pictures on Facebook and Twitter. It was very well received (face it, we all need a little bit of validation). Another major reason was because an acquaintance of mine (I actually met her through Terra Recycled) runs her own blog about everything. She has a section on cooking and she wants me to be a regular contributor. Very flattering. The first post has gone up and if you’re interested in checking it out: http://senseualityblog.com/. Because my recipes have started to go on another blog, I was thinking, why not re-start my personal blog? It’s a part of me – food, cooking, blogging, reading other food blogs, etc.

This post is not going to be a singular recipe with a focus on one type of dish – it is, essentially, a snapshot of the food I have been making during my absence:

Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars with Chocolate Chips and Chocolate Crust – very well received at my company’s Thanksgiving Luncheon.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Garlic Mashed Potatoes with Chives, Asiago Cheese, and Heavy Cream – utter deliciousness. Made for a very picky friend of mine (he LOVED it).

Ground Chickpea & Sweet Potato Burger with Hoisin Mayo – a Lenten version of Meatless Sundays. It tasted almost like seasoned hummus!

Maple-Oat Bread – I wanted to be able to bake bread for the first time ever. One day, when I was particularly upset, I thought “hey, I need to take my frustrations out onto something”. I took it out on the dough (the recipe required 6 straight minute of kneading). The results? Warm, baked goodness.

Pumpkin Spiced Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting – my co-workers LOVED it. I made this for no special reason. I just really love pumpkin around autumn season so I took advantage of my love (I’m such a boy).

Marbled White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake – made for my family’s annual Christmas get-together – they LOVED it!! Even the dieters went for thirds (yes, THIRDS! They wanted more but figured they had to leavesome for the others). And another person called it a work of art. Seeing that art is my weak point, I was feeling pretty darn tootin’ pleased with myself!

Chocolate-Coconut Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting and Chocolate Chips – Made with Terra. It was pretty perfect! Made for no special reason – for the pure reason of being bakerallas one fine weekend in Malboro. Her boyfriend, the picky eater, loved it so I’d say it was a success.

Homemade Pumpkin Pie – made with a real pumpkin. I hacked the small pumpkin down to pieces, steamed it, pureed it, and proceeded to make the pie. It was easy as PIE and the taste was infinitely better than the store-brought ones. Let’s just say this…by the end of the day, more than half the pie was gone (and it wasn’t because of me!)

Cream of Coconut Pancakes with Sliced Bananas and Warm Maple Syrup Infused with Cinnamon – the perfect Sunday morning, one fine Sunday 🙂

Nutella Brownies with Butterscotch Chips – YUMMY!! YUMMY!!! I brought a tray of it to work one day, left it on the table for anyone to consume. By the time, I checked back around 2 pm, it was practically wiped clean. Hehe…he.

Warm, Spicy Bowl of Chili – It was a blisteringly, cold day, one winter’s evening. I wanted something to warm up my insides. I made slow-cooked chili with three kinds of beans, ground beef, and assorted vegetables and seasonings. The picture looks not-so-artistic, but it was a big bowl of comfort.

Chipotle Turkey Burger with Pepperjack Cheese – Hmmm. I love burgers. And it was something my little brother could eat (it had no eggs).

Kappa – It’s a South Indian dish made with yucca, tumeric, coconut, and a variety of other things. I’ve always shied away from Indian dishes because that was my mother’s domain and I always felt that I would bring her shame if I ever attempted anything. But I gathered up the courage and made it. What do you know? It was spicy scrumptiousness. My father couldn’t even tell that it was made by me, not my mother. That’s a pretty high compliment, if I do say so myself 🙂

Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Chips and a Chocolate Glaze – Made for a special friend of mine and he needed a glass of milk afterward. I’m not a fan of pure chocolate cakes but even I have to say, I couldn’t stop eating it – hence me gaining some awesome holiday weight.

Coconut Rum Cake with a Toasted Coconut Topping and Cream of Coconut Glaze – made for my mother for New Year’s. Completely consumed by my cousins and me while watching Bradley Cooper get hyped on drugs. What a night.

That’s all for now. I might end up making something tomorrow. Meanwhile, stay tuned! I promise not to be an abandoner again!

Happy Eating!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

