Summer Vegetable and Lemon Risotto

Standard

It seems that I will never make the lemon crinkle cookies. One day…one fine day. The truth of the matter is everyone I know is on a diet – myself included – so the pressure to make something lighter and healthier is on me! I stumbled upon when googling healthier alternatives for my lunch instead of eating tuna fish sandwiches all the time. I made some changes so it’s healthier than the healthy version 🙂 For example, it called for butter and cheese. Since there was no real need for butter (in my eyes), I decided not to add it. The cheese would have added an extra layer but…I have high blood pressure and cheese is just TERRIBLE for those with hypertension. Since there is no addition of such bad fats, it also makes it the perfect recipe for my younger brother – Kurias – who is on a very restricted gluten-free, sugar-free, dairy-free, chicken-and-egg-free diet (I know, poor guy). I also did not add the yellow squash – instead substituting that with mushrooms because me love me some ‘shrooms, hmmm!!

The recipe can be found here: Summer Vegetable Lemon Risotto

Prepping the veggies

Prepping the veggies

Sauteing the veggies

Sauteing the veggies

Sauteed onions

Sauteed onions

Sauteing arborio rice

Sauteing arborio rice

First addition of stock

First addition of stock

The rice just slurped the stock right up!

The rice just slurped the stock right up!

 

The addition of veggies

The addition of veggies

 

Final product

Final product

It was yummy! The only note I have to add is don’t forget to season as you go along. The continuous addition of stock can dilute the existing seasoning.

Have fun with the dish! If you don’t like squash, add something else. I figure sundried tomatoes will be super delicious in this dish. Next time I make it, it will be for the boyfriend. He loves butter and cheese so stay tuned for that version 🙂

Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

